Levels of Autism: Understanding the Diagnosis.

I want to tell you there is an element of grief that comes with being a special needs parent. And it doesn’t mean you love your child any less or that you are a bad person. It means you are human. You aren’t giving up hope. You are adjusting your hope, goals and picture of the future. That is the first step that no one tells us about. And it will feel like you are taking that step alone. You are adjusting your hope, goals and picture of the future. This is our first step. Be kind. Be patient. Remember that autism is a spectrum....a journey...with many ups and downs.

Understanding Autism

Autism is a developmental disorder. It affects individuals’ behaviors and communication skills. These symptoms can range from mild to severe. Autism affects an estimated 1 in 59 children in the United States today.

Autism, or autism spectrum  disorder (ASD), refers to a broad range of conditions. These are characterized by challenges with social skills, repetitive behaviors, speech, and nonverbal communication.

To determine levels of autism, doctors consider two things:

  • Social Communication Restricted, 
  • Repetitive Behaviors

Understanding the Levels of Autism

Level 3      Level 2.      Level I

Level 1: Requiring Support

Those with level 1 autism will have struggles with communication skills and socializing with others. While they may be able to carry on a conversation, 

Level 2: Requiring Substantial Support

For someone with an autism level 2 diagnosis, they will need substantial support. The symptoms associated with this level of autism include a more severe lack of both verbal and nonverbal communication skills. 

Level 3: Requiring Very Substantial Support

Autism level 3 is the most severe of the levels of autism. These individuals will need substantial support throughout their lives. They will have a noticeable lack of verbal and nonverbal communication skills,